Auto Insurance Coverage In California
Residents of California will tell you the same thing: to survive here, you’ll need a car. Whether it’s the scenic drive along the coast on Route 1 or the long trip from LA to San Francisco on I-5, you’ll need to make sure you have the right car insurance coverage. In fact, the Golden State has stiff penalties for failing to maintain auto insurance coverage, including a traffic citation and fine of $1,000 or more and the impounding of your vehicle. You may also be financially responsible for any costs if you cause an accident and don’t have car insurance.
Luckily, maintaining California auto insurance coverage is easy. You can get a free car insurance quote with GEICO online in just a few minutes. California has some unique car insurance laws that make insuring a vehicle there different than other states, so read on to be in the know.
What is the California Good Driver Discount?
California Insurance Code (CIC) § 1861.02 states that Good Drivers will receive at least a 20% discount on their auto insurance premium. When you insure with GEICO, we will give you the California Good Driver Discount automatically if you meet the necessary criteria. Visit the CA Good Driver Discount page for more information.
How does the California Deductible Waiver work?
If you carry collision coverage on your car, then you may be eligible for the California Deductible Waiver. With this waiver, your insurance company will pay the collision deductible on your car if an uninsured driver causes an accident. Speak to one of GEICO’s expert auto insurance agents to discuss whether this coverage option is right for you.
What do I do if I get a California Intent to Suspend Registration letter?
If the state of California cannot confirm that you have insurance on your vehicle, you may receive a letter stating that they plan to cancel your car’s registration. This can happen if the state doesn’t have the correct VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) on file, if your insurance coverage has lapsed, or if there’s an error in the information that the state of California received. Call a GEICO agent to see how we can help.
California Minimum Car Insurance Coverage
California requires drivers to carry at least the following coverages:
- Bodily Injury Liability Coverage: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident minimum
- Property Damage Liability Coverage: $5,000 minimum
- Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage: $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident minimum
- Uninsured Motorist Property Damage Coverage: $3,500 minimum
Note: Uninsured motorist coverages can be rejected by speaking with a GEICO representative. Speak to a licensed GEICO insurance agent to find the options that are right for you.
California Teen Driving Laws
If you’re the parent of a teen, California allows your son or daughter to begin the licensing process at age 15½. Before becoming fully licensed, California teen drivers must complete driver training and get a provisional permit. Here’s some of the information that the California DMV requires to get this permit:
- Application form
- Parental signatures
- Social Security number
- Application fee
- Proof of driver education
Young drivers in California must have a provisional permit for at least six months before applying for a license. At that time, the DMV will administer a driving test before issuing a driver’s license. For full California teen driver rules and laws, check with your local California DMV.
Incoming search terms:
- suncoast car insurance ca